Things found in the snow…

IMG_0134

I have been discovering gifts in the melting snow this week.  As we have been enjoying the slightly warmer temperatures, and the slow melting of the snow in our yard and on our street, little surprises keep popping up.  Seemingly out of nowhere, and yet they were there all along.  Hanging out all winter waiting to be discovered once again.

The flower-pot I found has its own special use on our porch.  We use it as an ash tray for our friends and neighbours who hang out with us and sit on the porch on wonderful summer evenings.  Finding this  flower-pot  reminds me of the relationships we value and that the time for sitting out doors will soon be here, bringing renewal and refreshment to our relationships.

In my backyard, our garden boxes suddenly appeared one day. With those boxes came some tiny strawberry plants that I tucked away last fall.  Reminding me of the aroma of soil between my fingers, scratching beneath my fingernails and the satisfaction of growing my own fresh vegetables and fruit.  The joy of nurturing a garden and “helping” the plants to grow.

And a two dollar coin,  just waiting on my porch for me to pick up. Like a little wink from God, it said “Hey there!  I see you!  We’ll get through this winter yet, the two of us, but in the meantime, here, go have a coffee on me”.  (Which by the way, I promptly did.)

It’s so easy to find things to complain about.  The winter was too long, the winter was too cold, Spring isn’t coming quick enough…  I wonder if we can’t slow ourselves down a little to see all the blessings and the joys that come in the season of spring, the season that we so desperately wait for in the long winters.

I so often try to rush into things, being a bit on the impatient side (I know you are nodding right now mom!).  However, this year, I am going to challenge myself to be present in the in between, to anticipate what is to come and not try to rush it.  To embrace the waiting process, to go through spring and not rush into what’s next both in my life, and in my yard.

“Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable- if anything is excellent or praiseworthy- think about such things.” Phillipians 4:8

What have you been rediscovering this spring?  What joys are you looking forward to in this season? How can you slow down and not rush what is happening around you?

Leave a Reply

