Hope

By Teresa Zehr

Teresa Zehr

This last winter my eyes have been continually drawn to a birds nest sitting in the tree in front of our house.  I notice it as I sit in the living room, or when I am gazing out the window while sitting at my desk.  I began to wonder why I was so fascinated with this empty, lonely looking birds nest. It occurred to me that it is a symbol of hope.  It sits waiting for the birds to return, to once again be a safe home, hidden by the leaves.  It reminds me of the promise of spring, when the birds, leaves and flowers (not to mention warmer temperatures!) will return again and bring a newness to our world. And it promises joy and sounds of birds singing with reckless abandon.

As Christ followers, our hope comes from something much deeper than ourselves or a simple birds nest.  It comes from Christ who is within us.  My mind goes to the old Hymn “On Christ the Solid Rock I stand” which pretty much says it all, and much more elegantly than I ever could!

“My Hope is built on nothing less, than Jesus love and righteousness…”

And the second verse “When darkness seems to hide His face, I rest on His unchanging grace…”

If you have an extra few minutes today, I encourage you to listen to the song, my favourite is the Mike Janzen version from his Little Trinity album.  Simple, soulful and heart warming!

You can listen to the song in iTunes or on youtube : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P5ItzSpzI-c

What are your thoughts? Where do you find hope these days?  What gets you through when darkness and cold winds blow into your life?

Leave a Reply

